Home » Notes

Elizabeth Lambert: Video of New Mexico’s queen of mean

November 9, 2009 | 11:19 am No comments
By George Tanner

Video of University of New Mexico soccer player Elizabeth Lambert’s exploits in the semifinals of the Mountain West Conference Championship on Thursday in Provo, Utah, against Brigham Young are blowing up on youtube right now.

If you like hair pulling, kicking, elbowing, punching and general dirty play, this video is for you:

UNM head coach Kit Vela announced that Lambert, a junior defender, has been suspended indefinitely. Lambert is prohibited from participating in all team practices, competition and conditioning activities.

“I am deeply and wholeheartedly regretful for my actions,” Lambert said in a statement on the school’s athletics Web site. “My actions were uncalled for. I let my emotions get the best of me in a heated situation. I take full responsibility for my actions and accept any punishment felt necessary from the coaching staff and UNM administration. This is in no way indicative of my character or the soccer player that I am. I am sorry to my coaches and teammates for any and all damages I have brought upon them. I am especially sorry to BYU and the BYU women’s soccer players that were personally affected by my actions. I have the utmost respect for the BYU women’s soccer program and its players.”

Vela said, “Liz is a quality student-athlete, but in this instance her actions clearly crossed the line of fair play and good sportsmanship.”

“Liz’s conduct on the field against BYU was completely inappropriate,” said UNM Vice President for Athletics Paul Krebs. “There is no way to defend her actions.”

NCAA DIVISION II MEN’S TOURNAMENT: The 11th-ranked Colorado School of Mines men’s soccer team earned a spot in the 2009 tournament for the second time in program history. Mines (15-2-4, 11-2-1 RMAC) will face No. 2 Fort Lewis College at 2 p.m. Friday in Durango. The winner will advance to the second round to play either No. 4 West Texas A&M or ninth-ranked Midwestern State at 1 p.m. Sunday.

NCAA DIVISION II WOMEN’S TOURAMENT: The Metropolitan State College women’s soccer team will host a first-round match between Minnesota-Duluth and Minnesota State-Mankato at 1 p.m. Friday at Auraria Field. The winner of that match will advance to face the Roadrunners at 1 p.m. Sunday at Auraria. Regis University will face the Colorado School of Mines at 2 p.m. Thursday in Durango, and the winner of that match will advance to meet Fort Lewis College on Sunday in Durango.

RMAC AWARD: Colorado School of Mines striker Kayla Mitchell has been selected as the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference women’s athlete of the month for October. Mitchell, a senior from Ontario, Ore., was named RMAC offensive player of the week three times during October. In eight matches, Mitchell scored 16 goals, including six game-winners, and tallied four assists for 36 total points. Mitchell scored four hat tricks including a record-breaking four-goal performance in Mines’ win over CSU-Pueblo. For her efforts in the classroom, Mitchell was named the RMAC women’s soccer academic player of the year for the second consecutive season and was named CoSIDA/ESPN the Magazine first team academic all-district.

INDOOR SOCCER AT REGIS: The 17th annual Regis University Winter Indoor Classic will feature two formats: two groups of 4v4 (boys on January 3, girls on January 24) and 10 divisions of futsal (January 2 through February 6). The divisions for futsal include high school girls and boys (January 2); U-10 boys (January 3); U-11 boys (January 9); U-12 boys (January 10); U-10 girls (January 31; U-13/14 girls (January 31); U-11 girls (February 6); and U-12 girls (February 6). The 4v4 tournaments feature no goalkeepers, goals that are 6 feet wide and 4 feet high, a 94-by-50-foot field with no walls, a 25-minute clock, a maximum roster of six players and at least six games. The cost is $160 per team. The futsal tournaments will have goalkeepers, a 102-by-58-foot field with no walls, a 25-minute clock a roster of no more than eight players and a minimum of six matches. The cost is $210 per team. Register online at RegisSoccerAcademy.com or contact Regis coaches J.B. Belzer or Tony McCall.

MLS AWARDS, PART 1: MLS W.O.R.K.S., Major League Soccer’s community outreach initiative, and the U.S. Soccer Foundation, the major charitable arm of soccer in the United States, have announced that Kansas City Wizards defender Jimmy Conrad and Chicago Fire midfielder Logan Pause were selected to receive the 2009 U.S. Soccer Foundation/MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year Award. This marks the first time that two players have shared the honor.

MLS AWARDS, PART 2: MLS announced that Columbus Crew defender Chad Marshall was voted the defender of the year for the second consecutive season. Marshall anchored the Columbus defense, which allowed only 31 goals during the regular season – a record low for the Crew. Marshall played in and started 18 games during the regular season; he missed four games while serving national team duty with the U.S. and another six games with a knee sprain at the end of the season. Marshall’s leadership helped the Crew capture their second straight Supporters’ Shield trophy, awarded to the team that finishes with the best regular season record (13-7-10, 49 points). The Crew’s defense allowed the third-fewest goals (31), behind the Houston Dynamo (29) and Seattle Sounders FC (29).
MLS Defender of the Year Winners
2009: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2008: Chad Marshall – Columbus Crew
2007: Michael Parkhurst – New England Revolution
2006: Bobby Boswell – D.C. United
2005: Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards
2004: Robin Fraser – Columbus Crew
2003: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2002: Carlos Bocanegra – Chicago Fire
2001: Jeff Agoos – San Jose Earthquakes
2000: Peter Vermes – Kansas City Wizards
1999: Robin Fraser – Los Angeles Galaxy
1998: Lubos Kubik – Chicago Fire
1997: Eddie Pope – D.C. United
1996: John Doyle – San Jose Earthquakes

MLS AWARDS, PART 3:MLS also announced that referees Alex Prus and Greg Barkey were voted as the referee of the year and assistant referee of the year, respectively. Prus was honored with the award for the first time in his career. A veteran center referee of MLS games, Prus has worked 169 games in 13 seasons. Prus first served as an assistant referee in MLS in 1997. He has worked five men’s Division I NCAA Final Four soccer tournaments and was the head referee for MLS Cup 2007 in Washington. Barkey was one of three assistant referees to represent the United States in the 2006 World Cup. In 14 seasons with Major League Soccer, Barkey has worked 201 regular-season games and 28 playoff games.
MLS Referee of the Year Winners
2009: Alex Prus
2008: Jair Marrufo
2007: Brian Hall
2006: Brian Hall
2005: Brian Hall
2004: Abiodun ‘Abbey’ Okulaja
2003: Brian Hall
2002: Kevin Terry
2001: Paul Tamberino
2000: Paul Tamberino
1999: Paul Tamberino
1998: Paul Tamberino
1997: Esse Baharmast

Assistant Referee of the Year Winners
2009: Greg Barkey
2008: Kermit Quisenberry

Related posts

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.