Home » The Thursday List

No promises on repeat plans

November 24, 2010 | 10:18 pm No comments
By Shaun Schafer

Colorado Gov. Bill Ritter brought it up at the downtown rally for the Rapids on Tuesday. Team managing director Jeff Plush mentioned it in his remarks at the same rally: The Repeat.

Now that the Rapids have an MLS Cup, the attention has turned to repeating. While 2011 is about four months away, we look at how past champions have done.

Year                               Champion                                Next Season
1996                               D.C. United                              Won league’s second title over the Rapids
1997                               D.C. United                              Fell to expansion Chicago Fire in final
1998                              Chicago Fire                            Lost in  quarterfinals
1999                              D.C. United                               Missed playoffs
2000                              Kansas City Wizards             Lost in quarterfinals
2001                              San Jose Earthquakes          Lost in quarterfinals
2002                              L.A. Galaxy                               Lost in quarterfinals
2003                              San Jose Earthquakes          Lost in quarterfinals
2004                              D.C. United                              Lost in quarterfinals
2005                              L.A. Galaxy                              Missed playoffs
2006                              Houston Dynamo                 Repeated as champions
2007                              Houston Dynamo                  Lost in quarterfinals
2008                             Columbus Crew                      Lost in quarterfinals
2009                             Real Salt Lake                          Lost in quarterfinals
2010                              Colorado Rapids                    To be continued…

As you can see, the odds of repeating aren’t good. Of the 14 previous champions, nine have lost in the quarterfinals. Only D.C. United in 1996-97 and the Houston Dynamo in 2006-07 have repeated.

Related posts

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.