Home » The Thursday List

Skyhawks, Orediggers topping the lists

August 18, 2011 | 9:31 am No comments
By Shaun Schafer

Follow the bouncing ball. It's time for another college soccer, only this one will be without Steven Emory, the two-time RMAC player of the year, who moved up to the MLS. (Photograph by Jessica Taves/ColoradoSoccerNow.com)

For The Thursday List, we took a look back at past RMAC soccer champions and a look ahead to the coming season as we considered the top picks to take men’s and women’s crowns this season.

First, the women’s regular season RMAC champions
2001: Regis University
2002: Metro State
2003: Metro State
2004: Metro State*
2005: Metro State
2006: Metro State*
2007: Metro State
2008: Metro State
2009: Metro State
2010: Fort Lewis
2011: Fort Lewis
*Denotes NCAA Division II National Champions

There hasn’t been a lot of variety in RMAC women’s champions, with the Roadrunners dominating the conference during the aughts and winning two national titles. The Fort Lewis College Skyhawks, however, claimed the regular season title in 2010 and are the pick of the litter to repeat in 2011.

Next, the men’s regular season RMAC champions
2001: Fort Lewis
2002: Colorado Mines
2003: Colorado Mines
2004: Fort Lewis
2005: Fort Lewis*
2006: Fort Lewis
2007: Metro State
2008: Fort Lewis
2009: Fort Lewis*
2010: Colorado Mines
2011: Colorado Mines
*Denotes NCAA Division II National Champions

Metro State’s championship in 2007 is increasingly looking like a fluke in what has been a two-horse race between Fort Lewis and the Colorado School of Mines. The Orediggers and Skyhawks are likely to be tangling again this season, with Mines the pick to take the 2011 title.

RMAC men’s and women’s teams begin scrimmages and exhibition matches this weekend, with most side starting their regular season on Sept. 1. For more on the schedules for the RMAC schools and soccer at Colorado, Denver, UNC and the Air Force Academy, click here.

Related posts

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.