Home » University of Denver

Pioneer women announce schedule

June 17, 2011 | 9:32 pm 1
By Shaun Schafer

The DU women’s soccer team will open the 2011 season in the inaugural Colorado Cup during a schedule that features nine games at CIBER Field at the University of Denver Soccer Stadium, head coach Jeff Hooker announced Friday.

The Pioneers will face three 2010 NCAA Tournament teams, including Auburn and Middle Tennessee at home, as well as hosting Nebraska in its first year in the Big 10.

“We’re very excited with the 2011 schedule, starting with the first round of the inaugural Colorado Cup against Northern Colorado on Aug. 19, following a game between Colorado and Colorado College,” Hooker said. “This is one of the strongest schedules we have ever had, including a great slate of home games and road games against Cal and Colorado. We feel that the nonconference schedule will prepare us well for our last go around in the Sun Belt Conference.”

Colorado, Colorado College and Northern Colorado join Denver in the Colorado Cup, which will feature DU/UNC and CU/ CC on Aug. 19 at CIBER Field, followed by matchups between DU/CC and CU/UNC in Boulder on Aug. 21.

The Cornhuskers, who finished out their final season in the Big 12 with a 13-7-1 mark last year, will travel to CIBER Field on Aug. 25.

Following a trip to Berkeley, Calif., for the California Invitational against San Francisco (Sept. 2) and 2010 NCAA Tournament participant Cal (Sept. 4), DU will return to Boulder for a meeting with in-state rival Colorado (Sept. 11).

The Pioneers again will host the Denver Invitational to close out the nonconference schedule. On Sept. 16, CU/Auburn will precede an evening meeting between DU and Cal State Bakersfield. The Pioneers will take on Auburn, who received an at-large bid to the 2010 NCAA Tournament, and CU will meet CSUB on Sept. 18.

The Sun Belt Conference portion of the schedule opens on Sept. 23, when the Pioneers will battle Middle Tennessee, which edged DU in a shootout following a scoreless regulation and two overtimes in the 2010 SBC Tournament championship game.

Western Kentucky travels to CIBER Field on Sept. 25. South Alabama (Oct. 7), Troy (Oct. 9) and Arkansas State (Oct. 20) all travel to Denver, while DU will visit Louisiana-Lafayette (Sept. 30), Louisiana-Monroe (Oct. 2), Florida Atlantic (Oct. 14), Florida International (Oct. 16), Arkansas-Little Rock (Oct. 23) and North Texas (Oct. 28).

The Sun Belt Conference Tournament will be held at Middle Tennessee in Murfreesboro, Tenn., on Nov. 2-5. The Pioneers finished 2010 at 19-2-1, the best record in team history, and swept the SBC regular season for the third time in team history. However, Middle Tennessee beat DU in a shootout in the SBC Tournament championship game, snapping Denver’s league record streak of fourth-consecutive SBC Tournament titles and a berth in the NCAA Tournament.

Related posts

One Comment »

  • kathrine.bocsh said:

    Sun Belt Conference Tournament is included in my must watch schedule , thanks for the post

Leave your response!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.